Michigan State University
Michigan State University
Department of Linguistics & Germanic, Slavic, Asian and African Languages
Home > Study Abroad > Japanese

Japan Center for Michigan Universities

Located in Room 110 of the International Center

The Japan Center for Michigan Universities (JCMU) is a living-learning center located on the shore of Lake Biwa in Hikone City, Shiga Prefecture, Japan. Our programs are dedicated to building relationships between Japanese, Americans, and other nationalities through active learning and participation in language, culture, family life and society. JCMU has been welcoming students of all majors since 1989. Students from Michigan State University, as well as the 14 other public Michigan universities, several affiliate institutions nationwide and beyond are able to participate in JCMU programs. JCMU offers a number of programs that vary in focus and duration in fields such as Japanese language and culture, environmental sciences, health care, hospitality and more. More information can be found on the JCMU website.
Career/Culture Programs
Environmental Sciences in Japan
Comparative Health Care in Japan
Hospitality & Tourism in Japan
Summer Internship Program
May Programs (offerings vary by year)
Digital Video & Photography in Japan
Japanese Religions
Contemporary Japanese Politics

University of the Ryukyus in Okninawa

This program provides students the opportunity to study at the University of Ryukyus in Okinawa, Japan.  Okinawa has a varied history and unique traditions including festivals, dancing, music, and arts and crafts. It is an ideal place to study Japanese language, culture and society in a beautiful island setting. 

The University of the Ryukyus was founded in 1950 on the site of the ancient Shuri Castle. The university has long served as a beacon of hope and a symbol of cultural identity and takes pride in its commitment to cultivating individuals who can succeed in an international society with high language skills and global awareness. It is a full national university consisting of six faculties – Law and Letters, Education, Science, Medicine, Engineering and Agriculture - eight graduate schools, one special program, a library, two affiliated schools, and numerous education/research-related facilities and centers.